FRANCES BELFORD WAYNE MERIT AWARD The Frances Belford Wayne award recognizes the outstanding journalistic abilities of a student at the University of Colorado School of Journalism. Frances Belford Wayne, a Central City native, distinguished  herself during  a 40-year career with The Denver Post and won national recognition as an investigative reporter and feature writer. She was the first Honorary Member named by the Denver Woman’s Press Club. The scholarship was initiated in 1940 by DWPC President Gladys Van Vranken Parce and has been funded for more than half a century.


RUTH MURRAY UNDERHILL AWARD The Ruth Murray Underhill Award was established in 1985 to honor the memory of one of the DWPC’s most distinguished members. A  pioneering anthropologist who spoke six languages, Dr. Underhill was an authority on North American Indians, a mountain climber, a poet, and a professor at the University of Denver. She published numerous books, including the first known narrative of a Native American woman’s life, The Autobiography of a Papago Woman.  Her own memoir, An Anthropologist’s Arrival, was published posthumously in 2014. The monetary award is given to a University of Colorado student for outstanding merit in creative writing.


SCHOLASTIC ART & WRITING AWARD The Scholastic Art & Writing Award, established in 1923, is the largest and most prestigious awards program for talented high school students in the nation. The Awards and Philanthropy Committee of The Denver Woman’s Press Club selects its winner(s) from the top six writing portfolios submitted by Colorado high school seniors. Winners from the Colorado region proceed to New York for national judging.