The Denver Women’s Press Club is proud to announce the winners of the 2020 Unknown Writer’s Contest. We have been honored this year to have the New York Times bestselling author of Women Who Run With Wolves , Dr. Clarissa Pinkola Estes partner with us to create a new way to judge and honor our writers. At the beginning of the process our Press Club judges, who are professional writers and editors, selected their top picks. When Dr. Estes was asked to rate those three, she said, that she kept ending up with each of them in her “top winners“pile. She then suggested that the Press Club and her foundation, Dr. Clarissa Pinkola Estes’ LA Sociedad de Nuestra Señora de Guadalupe Foundation partner and give a $125.00 prize to each of the top winners in each category, fiction, non-fiction and poetry.

Patrick Daniels – Bella Vista
Sharon Holstrom – Kaibab Summer
Erika Henkart – P.S. Grandma Played Football
Rachael Dempsy – The Suicide Club

Non Fiction
Janet DeBell – A Colorado Story
Valerie Vabney – It Can Happen to Anyone
Wendy Tinker – Shut the Damn Gate
The Weight of Bombs – Krista Hanley

Lynette Moyer – Lynette Moyer
Celia Turner – Molten
Lynette Moyer – Sly Poem

As you know we are postponing our celebration reception and will reschedule it when the virus danger has passed. We are all so grateful for the generous sharing of your talent with us. We look forward to meeting our winners at an upcoming reception.

Anne Randolph – President, Denver Woman’s Press Club
Barb Warner – Chair, Unknown Writer’s Contest