Each year, DWPC provides scholarships to promising female college students enrolled in academic writing programs, including journalism, creative writing, and poetry.  Funds for our scholarships come from donations and proceeds from our annual Jewelry Sale fundraiser. Kudos to this year’s winners!


Abby McDonald

Scholastic Scholarship

Abby McDonald recently graduated from Rocky Mountain High School in Fort Collins, where she excelled in English, music, theater, and gymnastics. She will be exploring creative writing, poetry, and film studies in the honors program at the University of Denver this fall.


Annabelle Fern Praznik

Ruth Underhill Award

Anna is a single mother and Master of Fine Arts candidate in Creative Writing and Poetry at the University of Colorado, Boulder.  She has self-published a collection of non-fiction vignettes and performs spoken word, aiming to “reach through trauma to access joy.”


Sara K. Martin

Frances Wayne Award

Sara Martin is a photojournalist, reporter and editor-in-chief of a the The Metropolitan newspaper at Metropolitan State University of Denver. She is pursuing a bachelor’s degree in journalism.  She has published articles in local media and plans to pursue graduate studies in investigative journalism.